Alumni (5)

This blog is about my life and the role that robotics has in it.

I don't know if such story is interesting for someone out there, and I guess that the english will be very poor. But whatever you read in these pages is just the truth.

My name is Davide Faconti, and I am 29 years old. I am the project leader of the humanoid robot project "REEM".

I recently realized that maybe it worth to tell someone my story. OK, may me it is NOT... but still, I guess I will enjoy it.

I spent the last years working in robotics and I guess that I will do this the rest of my life. My dream is to give a contribution to robotics, and I hope that my work will eventually change the way we live... do you think it is silly?

May be it is, and you can laugh at it, but would you laugh at a person that spend is life practicing a sport and dreaming about become a world champion at the Olympic Games? Is there any difference at all?

I combined my CAS studies with courses at the Industrial Ecology program and am currently doing a PhD in sustainable mobility at Chalmers. The focus at the moment is on policy incentives for a transitioning car fleet from internal combustion engines, to electric vehicles, this is mainly done with statistics analysis. As a secondary research angle we are discussing the possibility to combine ideas from the technical change field and behavioral economics with agent-based modelling to understand how individuals can be better incentivized to choose a technology (like electric cars) that society wish to favor.

What I value most from my CAS studies in my current work is the training in thinking in terms of complexity and systems, these are important topics in sustainable development as well, and I enjoy looking at them from both angles.

I work for QRtech which is a consulting company that develops hardware and software for embedded systems. Right now I'm working with a control unit that is embedded in the Volvo, Mack, Renault and UD trucks. They share software but have over 2000 parameters for configuration. This results in a complex real-time software with high demands on stability and that the unit must be constantly up and running.

My daily work includes discussing new functionalities with customers, developing and testing. But also supporting trucks on after sales market. 

From CAS I have got a competent toolbox to find the right solution for a specific problem and also a experience of using creativity to solve complex problems.

Hint: From time to time QRtech has master thesis proposals announced on this page.


I implement and develop search solutions. Simply stated, it is similar to "small scale google solutions", but targeted mostly at companies internal information, but also e-commerce etc.

In my role as "Findability consultant", at Findwise, I want to work on all perspectives: What business value does this information bring to the customer? How should it be presented in the most relevant way to the user? What technical components are best suited to solve the problem?


Technically the work involves configuring and deploying search engines as well as configuring and developing our own components (search service abstraction layers, document processing frameworks, search-statistics tools, etc).  We work with search platforms such as Apache Solr, FAST ESP, Google (GSA) among others. Our internal applications are built on Java (Spring, Hibernate etc).

In conclusion it is more of "hands-on", "getting things working" than applying theories I learned in CAS although the practical programming training I got through CAS has been useful as well as the capability to tackle new challenges.

I graduated from the Complex Adaptive Systems-program in 2011. Since then I have been working as a PhD student in mathematical statistics at gothenburg university.

My main field of research involves hierarchical Bayesian models and MCMC (Markov Chain Monte Carlo) aimed towards analyzing metagenomic data. A typical working day includes programming (mainly in R), solving integrals both using pen and paper and the computer as well as a lot of reading and writing.

I also teach in a variety of statistics courses. The knowledge gained in the CAS program was not directly transferable to my field of research. However the way to approach problems, building abstract models and the experience gained in programing a diverse set of problems has helped me a lot.

You can find a link to my homepage at the mathematical department here. For more information on my research group go here.